You are here:-

Chairman of the PSC

Professor Ramesh Deosaran - ORTT


Ramesh Deosaran

Professor Deosaran ORTT was appointed by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago to serve as a Member of the Teaching Service Commission (December 2010), and as Chairman of the Police Service Commission (13th April, 2011 to 12th April, 2014). He was reappointed to serve a second term as Chairman of the PSC from the period (23rd May, 2014 to 22nd May, 2017). However Professor Deosaran resigned with effect from 01st September, 2014.

As part of his diverse public service record, Professor Deosaran has served as an Independent Senator to the Ninth Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago ( December 2007 - April 2010). Prior to this he served during the October 2002 - September 2007, April - August 2002, January - October 2001 and January 1986 - November 1991 parliamentary sessions, and as Chairman or Member on several Joint Select Committee of Parliament, for example, the Joint Select Committee appointed to Enquire into and Report on Municipal Corporations and Service Commissions (Police Service, Public Service) (Chairman); Joint Select Committee appointed to Enquire into and Report on The Local Government Bill, Police Service Reform Bill (Member), etc.

Professor Deosaran was a founding member and Executive Director of CARIBCARE (The Caribbean Institute for Human Rights) serving as well as Director of Workshops and Consultant across the Caribbean when he developed training programmes and workshops on human rights, drug trafficking legislation, crime management / prevention, domestic violence, national security and democracy, police - community relations, prison reform, cultural diversity and governance (1987-1993). He has also acted as an official human rights and elections observer in the national elections in Nicaragua, Panama and Guyana.He is also an active member of several international professional organizations.

Professor Deosaran is a graduate of the University of Toronto, Canada where he obtained his B.Sc. (First Class Hons), M.A. and Ph.D. He is Emeritus Professor in the multi-disciplinary fields of Sociology, Psychology and Criminology and serves currently as Chairman of the Police Services Commission and Member of the Teaching Service Commission in Trinidad and Tobago.

Professor Deosaran is an internationally recognized scholar, well respected for his research, publications and policy development submissions to local and regional governments.
Among his academic contributions, and with university approval, he established.

  • The Ansa McAl Psychological Research Centre (UWI).
  • The Centre for Criminology and Criminal Justice (UWI) and
  • The Institute of Crime and Public Safety (UTT).

He also developed several academic programmes e.g.

  • The BSc in Psychology (UWI).
  • The MSc and PhD in Criminology (UWI) and
  • The Certificate, Diploma and BSc in Criminology of (UTT).

He is also the founding editor of a fifteen year-old Caribbean journal. Such interventions have contributed immensely to the popularity and professional impact of both psychology and criminology across the entire Caribbean.
Professor Deosaran has presented and published over four hundred scholarly papers and journal articles and is author/editor of fifteen books and research monographs to date.

These include:-

bk1Caribbean Journal of Criminology and Social Psychology

This journal encouraged interaction among academics, policy-makers and judicial administrators in the Caribbean and internationally.



bk2 Crime Deliquency and Justice - A Caribbean Reader

This book presents insight on crime-related problems as well as first time information on new dimensions of crime and criminology that are springing up with increasing regularity and complexity.


bk3The Dynamics of Community Policing: Theory, Practive and Evaluation

"A baseline study of quality initiatives in the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service." This work sets out the basic parameters of community policing with an integrated design for implementation, community partnerships and support, quality benchmarking and continuous assessment.


Psychonomics and Poverty:Towards Governance and a Civil Society

In this book, Professor Deosaran describes a novel, multidisciplinary approach to the study of poverty. He uses what he terms "photosociology" as a tool for painstaking research, and he presents "profiles of poverty" which effectively match the stark faces of the poor to statistical data.


A Society Unders Siege:A Study of Political Confusion and Legal Mysticism

"In a psychological analysis of the contemporary political drama of Trinidad and Tobago, Professor deosaran uses 1990 coup attempt as a starting point to examine the sociopathology of political rule and the dynamics of formal and informal conflict resolution in the twin-island republic"--

In particular, one of his manuscripts, Psychonomics, seeks to integrate principles of social psychology with economics to explain crime. On invitation, he has submitted special articles related to crime and justice in the Caribbean to three International Encyclopedias (2006); Encyclopedia of Police Science (2006); Crime and Punishment around the World (2010).

Professor Deosaran is a recipient of the prestigious Senior Fulbright Award and other numerous awards and honors which include :-
His appointment as Fellow of the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI) in recognition of his outstanding and unusual contributions in relating social psychological research to important and significant social issues and problems (May 2000).
Professor Deosaran is the recipient of a special Certificate of Honors and Keys of San Francisco, California, USA by the City's Mayor in recognition of his distinguished record of international scholarship and public service (July 1999).

He is the founding Editor of the 15-year old Caribbean Journal of Criminology and Public Safety (CJCPS).

Professor Deosaran has also been Visiting Professor at several other universities including Stanford University, University of Bombay, Univeristy of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York (CUNY), Oxford University and Florida State University.

He serves as a Member of :-

  • The editorial Board of the International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice, December 2010 - present.
  • A Critical Journal of Crime, law and society since April 2003,
    Editorial Consultant, Police Practice and Research: an International Journal, December 1999-present
  • and Member, Peer Review Board, Journal of Research, January 2008 - present.
  • The Editorial Board of the Journal of Ethnicity Justice 2001-2007.
  • He has been a Visiting Professor at Stanford University, University of Hawaii, Oxford Centre for Socio - Legal Studies, University of California, Berkeley.
  • As part of an inter-nations academic visit sponsored by the German Government (August 1983), he also visited leading universities in Bonn, Berlin, Munich, Frankfurt, as well as the Frankfurt school of Research. In June 2001 he was again the guest of the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany as part of an international team of experts to develop a research / policy project in the area of prison recidivism and penal reform.

See Past Chairman of the Police Service Commission

Copyright (c) 2014 Police Service Commission of Trinidad and Tobago